Students' Zone
Alumni Update

11 Aug 2020


The home Dance floor was the event that was thought of as a platform for the alumni to showcase their talent in this lockdown situation. Most of us have a very monotonous lifestyle these days. People are tirelessly working from home without any source of entertainment. There was tremendous support from our Director H Chaturvedi and Prof. Gagan Katiyar – the Head of Alumni Cell for executing this idea of Home Dance Floor event.

There were three broad categories male, female and kids. Interested people had to send their videos for respective categories. There was an overwhelming response from all the alumni. It was very difficult for the judges to come up with the winner in each category. The participants were judged on the basis of 5 parameters like execution, energy, control of events, choreography and creativity and lastly overall expression. There were 3 jury members namely Mr Alok Gupta (president GAAB), Neepa Ghosh and Deepankar.

Alok Gupta is the President of the Alumni Association of Birla Institute of Management Technology and the alumni representative on the board of BIMTECH. Neepa Ghosh has been Teaching Kathak in Tansen Sangeet Mahavidyalaya, Kalkaji in New Delhi since last 7 years.

Deepanker is a Dance teacher at Paramount International school. He did Live telecast performances @ Delhi AAJ tak news. Professor Gagan then addressed on behalf of the alumni conduit of BIMTECH.

The first category was for the Best Female Dance and the winner was Sharon Kundu. Mr Alok Gupta announced the winner and felicitated the winner with Hair straightening brush and Panasonic Corded hair styler.

The winner in the Best Male Dance was Prakhar Shamur. The winner was felicitated with a HP Deskjet Ink Advantage 2676 All in one Inkjet Printer.

The 3rd winner category was for couple dance and the winner for the category was Rachit Sareen& his wife. The 4thcategory was the best kid dancer with two sub categories of (a)Kids below 5 years (b) Kids between 5 to 10 years.

The winner in kids below 5 years the winner was Kavya Agarwal and the winner in the kids 5to 10 years category was Shanvi Kesri.